Woman Crush Wednesday

Don’t check your calendars, today is indeed Thursday, I just forgot to write this yesterday, but I felt it was important enough to post anyways. I’d like to start a new feature on my blog, where I highlight women whom I admire and respect. In light of somewhat recent events, I’d like to devote today’s post to a woman I don’t know the name of. I know why I don’t know her name, but I wish I didn’t have to know she existed either. Because the only reason I know she exists is because of what a horrible human being did to her.

That horrible human being? Brock Turner. But we’re not here to talk about him. Too much has been devoted to him, and he deserves nothing but our silence.

I want to spend the rest of our time addressing his victim directly. I hesitated in writing this, because I know you just want to be left alone. I know that you never wanted to be put in this position. I think the reason so many look up to you is how you responded to the miscarriage of justice that was your rapist’s sentencing. I hope you realize just how disgusting everyone involved in that decision is. While I pray everyday that you will find peace somehow, I can understand why that may never happen. I wouldn’t blame you for being angry and bitter, anybody could understand why. My hope is that you find peace, for you, not for any of the sick and disgusting people involved in your trial.

As a woman in my 30’s, I’ve experienced the culture that led to you being violated. I’ve held a friend as she cried after an uncaring police officer blamed her for her sexual assault. I’ve watched as dear friends struggled to come forward because they watched their friends and family suffer at the hands of the justice system that is supposed to protect them. I’ve cut off so-called friends that blamed me when it happened to me. When I reflect back on everything I’ve experienced as a woman in this culture, my eyes well with tears because I hope and pray you have a strong support network to rely on. Too many don’t have that, and you of all people deserve it.

When I read your letter to the disgusting excuse of a human being that assaulted you, I couldn’t help but be angry. You never should’ve had to write it. You never should’ve had to explain why what he did to you was wrong, why it was such a violation of who you are as a human being. I want you to know that I’m going to do everything I can to make sure this never happens again, and that if it does, they are brought to justice. Women shouldn’t be afraid to be human, and it’s time we stood up and said enough is enough.

One thought on “Woman Crush Wednesday

Penny for your thoughts?

