What’s Up?

13422192_883648361782030_7774803361549738027_o

Life is… life. It’s mostly good right now, with some potential hiccups on the horizon, but nothing I haven’t dealt with before. I’ve been dealing with migraines that are making basic functioning difficult, but I suspect it has something to do with the heat, so I’ve upped my water consumption and have been staying indoors to see if that cuts back on the frequency and/or intensity. The last couple of days we have been having record breaking temps, so that has been miserable, but today we cooled down significantly, so it has been better.

I don’t know if I’ve talked about it or not, but Joe ended up losing his job a while back, so now we’re both looking for work. Once we both have jobs we’re going to start trying for a baby again, which has me both ridiculously excited and more than a little terrified for the obvious reasons. I feel a lot better about it now than I did last year, especially since we have such a large support network that is much closer to us than where we were last year. Even if we both have to work, we shouldn’t have to worry about paying for full time child care, which is a huge weight off our shoulders. Seriously, that ish is expensive!

A friend posted a video on FB about the costs of child care, and in some places, child care for children too young to go to school costs more than RENT. I live in southern California, I don’t even want to think about how much it is in one of the most expensive places to live in the country. The kicker? Most of the people that are involved in the day to day care of your child are making just above minimum wage, even though most places require that you at least be working towards a degree in early childhood development to get an entry level position.

I hope this post finds you well, and that life has been good for you.

Penny for your thoughts?

