Motivation Monday

tumblr_mnibhgVqIy1re0a9ho1_1280

Most of you that know me know I despise Monday’s. Hate is not a strong enough word for me to describe my feelings about Monday’s. Especially Monday’s that start at 4am when your wonderful husband can’t sleep and decides to update his resume instead.

The good news is, all the laundry is done, the kitchen and living rooms are clean, and I actually ate a real breakfast today. Bathrooms and Scentsy warmers are next *shrugs* We’ll see what happens when I get around to dusting and vacuuming though, I’m not making any promises. I dislike cleaning, but I’ve been putting it off for far too long, so today it shall be done. And now that Joe is in a sleep deprived coma, I can get it all done with little interruption. It’s the little things!

Motivation. What motivates YOU? To get up every morning, to go to work, to thrive in this world? Is it a spouse? A child? The easy answer is money. Everyone needs money to survive, that is just how the world works. Those with a shortage of funds suffer dire consequences as a result of not having enough money, and it is ingrained in most people that you have to work hard to make sure you have a roof over your head, food in your stomach, and clothes on your back.

But that begs the question, is money your motivation? And more importantly, is it enough? Not do you have enough money, but does money motivate you enough to where you are consistently content and fulfilled? I suspect I know the answer to this for most people, and unfortunately, money isn’t enough of a reason to drag our asses out of bed every morning. We need purpose, and direction, and most importantly, we need motivation.

And now we’ve come full circle. So what motivates you?

I’ve been thinking about this for the last few months, and it’s frustrating to me that I don’t have an answer. Of course I want the people in my life to be proud of me and have respect for the things I’ve accomplished in my life. I want Joe to be proud to call me his wife. I want my parents to recognize everything I’ve done to get to where I am.

But I don’t think my friends and family are what motivate me, and I’m not sure how I feel about that.

One thought on “Motivation Monday

  1. Being greatly loved by the God of the Universe and His Son makes all the difference in my motivation, why I get up because His mercies are new every morning. He makes living on this earth and loving others a joy and delight. His unconditional love has carried me through many a tough spot in this life. 1 John 4 says we love because He first loved us, when we were hopeless and helpless. I deserve nothing and have been given everything. So I guess you could say gratitude for all of the above is my motivation.

    Like

Penny for your thoughts?

