Settling in, and other missives

Greetings from the land of the sun, that hasn’t been very sunny in recent days :-/

I apologize for not blogging recently, we’ve had a busy couple of weeks and it doesn’t seem like it will be slowing down any time soon. I’m currently writing this in my kitchen with a view of the beautiful southern California blue sky while my husband snores softly (or not so softly, depends on who you ask) in our bedroom behind me. Snickers is sunning herself in the big bay window that makes up the front of our house, and Harley is passed out in bed with Joe. Not sure which one of them is snoring louder 😀

The kitchen and bedroom are unpacked. The office/guest bedroom is another matter entirely. My books are still in boxes, and the last load of laundry is in the washer. Snickers approves of her new cat house and Harley loves her new dog bed, though she prefers ours more. We seem to have “lost” a box of kitchen appliances, so I am the proud new owner of the baller kitchenaid stand mixer and a shiny new crockpot. Everything else seems to have made it out relatively unscathed, but I still have a few boxes to unpack, so that may change.

The holiday’s are fast approaching, and we just barely managed to squeeze out of making Christmas dinner here, which gives me more time to get everything else unpacked. We’re going to one of my favorite restaurants in the whole world for my birthday next Sunday, and my parents and youngest brother will be here to celebrate, which makes me really excited.

I got our stockings set up, so it’s starting to feel more like home. We’ve been spending time with our nieces and nephews and the rest of Joe’s family, and visiting all of our old haunts has just been really fun. I feel like I’m where I belong, which I haven’t felt in a really long time. I miss my friends and family in Arizona immensely, but it just never felt like home to me. This feels like home, and it’s not even entirely unpacked yet. We downsized in space pretty drastically (from just over 2,000 sq ft down to 1250 sq ft) but so far we’re adjusting, and I’m getting creative with storage so hopefully it’s not a problem. There’s actually a decent amount of storage built into the house, and my FiL and his wife left behind a couple of storage items that will make finding places to put things much easier, so I don’t think we’ll have a problem. Fingers crossed 🙂

I’m going to pre post a few posts for the rest of the week so even if I can’t get to the computer over the next week something should post most days this week. Enjoy your holiday’s, no matter what you celebrate!

Penny for your thoughts?

