Makeup Basics: The Whole Face

I decided to break up this post into two posts because I use quite a few products and it was going to turn into a freakishly long post that no one would read. Today we’ll be focusing on the overall face, and then tomorrow will be eyes and lips. I’ll say upfront that most of the products I use cost a fairly decent amount of money, but they last a while and the quality is drastically better than what you’ll find at Target or your local drugstore. More expensive products don’t have to be touched up as often during the day, and therefore the product you purchase will last longer. My skin seems to take these products better than anything I’ve gotten at a drugstore, so there is that to consider as well. I’ll list in the order in which I apply each product:

Mac Prep + Prime Fix +

mac_sku_MW5K01_640x600_0

I cannot stress enough how important primer is. This is the first thing that gets applied to my whole face area, and it helps to keep my makeup from sinking into my skin, which means I’m applying less makeup throughout the day. Less re-application means I don’t go through products as quickly, which means I don’t have to replace them as often. The travel size bottle of this has lasted me two months, and I still have about 1/3rd of the bottle left. The best part? It’s only $10, the cheapest yet most important product I put on all day.

The next two products are Target finds, and the two of them combined will cost you less than $5:

Elf Perfect Blend Concealer in Light Beige

11326093_1000220499998871_989880666_n

I did link to e.l.f’s website for this product, but I believe they are available at Target as well. At $2, this is one of the few drugstore products that doesn’t break me out and it lasts all day. I use this to cover any blemishes I may have, although those seem to be few and far between now that I’ve got my skincare on lockdown. I’ve had the tiny little tube for a little over 2 months now, and I don’t think I’ve used even half the tube, so it will last you a while as well.

Elf Cover Everything Concealer in Corrective Yellow

2645090

Remember in THIS post I was talking about under eye bags? This little $2 investment has been a life saver when it comes to those annoying af bags. I use the beauty blender I talked about yesterday, get a small amount of product on the beauty blender (it really doesn’t take much) and blend into my under eye area before continuing onto foundation:

Mac Pro Longwear Nourishing Waterproof Foundation in NW20

2863543.PNG

At $33, this is the most expensive product I put on my face on a daily basis. The good thing about spending good money for foundation? It lasts all day, I use a teeny tiny amount so the bottle will last for a while (I’ve had this one for 2 months and haven’t even gone through half of it), and it’s one of the few foundations that don’t make me breakout like a teenager. If you’re going to splurge on something, splurge on a good foundation, it will improve virtually everything else you put on your face.

Mac Pro Longwear Powder/Pressed in A25

mac_sku_MR6K01_640x600_0

Who hates applying powder 55,000 times a day? I know I do, which is why I’m willing to pay the $26 price tag for good powder. I may have to touch up once a day towards the end of the day, but other than that, my face looks flawless all day. Since I got my skin and breakouts under control, there are days that I don’t have to touch up at all. Even though I use full coverage foundation, my makeup doesn’t look over done or fake, and I owe that to a good powder.

Two more products and then we’re done!

Mac Sculpt and Shape Powder in Bone Beige/Emphasize

b67a453aee5c2993dd9f917efdc0f996

I’m relatively new to the world of highlighting and contouring, and I think the lovely woman who helped me at the Mac store a couple of months ago realized that when I walked in and told her what I was looking for. I didn’t even know how many products I’d be walking out of there with, and she could have easily handed me 6 different things and I would have bought them all, then promptly never used them again. Instead she handed me this, and I’ve been hooked ever since. I use the darker one on the top of my forehead along the hair line and from the hair line by my ear to the corner of my lips. The lighter color I use under my eyes, just above the darker color on on my cheeks, and along the jaw line from my ear to my chin. Then I follow it up with our final product tonight:

Lorac Pro To Go Blush in Coral

SAM_2563

When I looked on Lorac’s website for the specific product I use I couldn’t find it, so I believe it has been discontinued. I’ve linked to the closest thing I could find to the color I use. I do fish face, then apply this to my cheek bones, just above the lighter shade in the product I used above.

I almost forgot the second most important product!

Mary Kay Makeup Finishing Spray

mary-kay-makeup-finishing-spray-z1

After everything has been applied, I spray this all over my face to give my makeup a little more staying power. At $18 the price isn’t the worst I’ve seen for setting sprays, but it isn’t the cheapest either. Since I haven’t had a problem with my makeup staying in place though, I’m going to go ahead and say a decent setting/finishing spray is a must for anyone’s makeup kit, especially if you need it to last all day.

This got long, so I’ll end here and follow up tomorrow with a post on my everyday eye and lip look!

 

Penny for your thoughts?

