From the top of your head…

to the tips of your toes. We only get one body, we should probably take care of it, right? But what does that mean? Everything from the food we eat to the lotion we put on our hands has an effect on the body, and not all of it is positive or good for us. I’ve had a life long love affair with food so I’m probably not the best person to turn to for healthy eating advice, but after a lot of trial and error, I have figured out the best things to use to take care of my hair and skin. The good news is, I don’t spend nearly as much on these products as I do facial skincare and makeup. The bad news is, these products may or may not work for you.

We’ll start with hair care:

Dove Intensive Repair Shampoo

Dove_shampoo_conditioner_Intensive_care

I’ll fill you in on a little secret. I don’t wash my hair everyday, and that’s actually a good thing. First of all, I have ridiculously thick, relatively long hair. On the days I do wash my hair, it takes me an hour and a half to get ready. Washing at night is a no go (I wake up looking like I stuck my finger in an electric outlet), and it’s not really good for your hair to wash it everyday. I notice when I wash mine everyday, my hair is more brittle and breaks more easily, plus it is more difficult for me to control the frizz that I’ve had since I was a kid. When I color it, the color seems to fade more quickly if I wash it everyday. I tend to wash mine every 2-3 days, depending on the climate I’m in and how quickly my hair starts to look oily.

I’ve colored my hair pretty consistently since I was 18, so I have done considerable damage to my hair. This combined with my naturally frizzy and wavy hair led to mostly bad hair days in the past. I’ve been using my hair care routine pretty consistently for the last few months,and it has drastically cut back on the amount of bad hair days. And the best part is, the most expensive product I use for my hair costs less than $12 on Amazon. I start with the Dove intensive repair shampoo, then follow it up with:

Dove Intensive Repair Conditioner

Dove_shampoo_conditioner_Intensive_care

I did link to the larger bottles than what is pictured here, mostly because Target almost always has the bigger bottles on sale so it just makes more sense from an economic standpoint to get the bigger bottles. Joe sometimes uses my conditioner anyways, and I have very thick hair, so I tend to go through a big bottle once every couple of months.

After I get out of the shower I clip my hair back and do my skincare routine and makeup, which allows my hair to dry  a bit before I start adding the following products:

Roux 233 Treatment & Shine

Roux-Treatment-Shine-233-Repair-System

This is the latest product I’ve added to my arsenal of hair care products, but is by far the most necessary product out of the three I use post shower. My hair has a tendency to get REALLY tangled at the ends especially, and this just knocks them right out with a light brush before I add the next product:

Tigi Bed Head After the Party Smoothing Cream

10551872-1322068808-170765

Go ahead and laugh at the bottle design, I know I did. But then head on over to Amazon and order a bottle for yourself because this is my miracle worker when it comes to all things frizz and kinks that like to call themselves waves. This combined with the new blow dryer I got a few weeks ago give me some of the straightest and frizz free hair I’ve ever had. I cannot recommend this enough.

This next product makes my hair super shiny and also helps with the frizz when I’m in more humid climates (the death knell for people with frizzy hair):

Matrix Total Results Sleek Silk Wonder Smoothing Oil

Matrix-Total-Results-Silk-Wonder-Oil

One of the few things (besides my family) that I like about Colorado is the climate. It is dry, blissfully, wonderfully dry. Not an iota of humidity anywhere to be seen. My hair has been wonderful, and I am sincerely going to miss that. I’ve had to up lotion application because my skin is so dry, but my hair has just absolutely loved this climate.

This product was my saving grace in the more humid Arizona and Southern California climates. The previous product would control the frizz for about a day after showering, but I’d have to apply more about halfway through day two or I’d start to frizz again and be a full frizz ball by the time I had to wash my hair again. I added this product to my routine and could make it from shower to shower with little to no frizz, and my hair was super shiny as well, it just felt amazing. At just over $7 on Amazon, it’s also the cheapest and has lasted me the longest out of the three after shower products.

And now we move onto the heat, which takes forever with my hair:

Conair 1875 Watt Cord-Keeper Hair Dryer

17070198

After 15+ years of trusted service, my old hair dryer bit the dust shortly after we got to Colorado. I begrudgingly made my way to Target and started looking for a blow dryer that wouldn’t break the bank. My eyes settled on the purple one, and I almost did a dance of joy when I saw it was less than $20 AND was a cord-keeper so I wouldn’t have to deal with a bulky cord when I was ready to put it away.

When I went to go look for a link to said purple hair dryer to write this post, I couldn’t find it in that color, so it looks like they may have discontinued it in that color. Don’t fret though, they still sell the model, just not in that color. The link is to Amazon, where it is about a dollar cheaper than at Target, so if you have a prime membership, you can get it in two days with free shipping.

I absolutely love this hair dryer, it does more than just dry it, which is about all my old hair dryer did. It came with a few attachments I haven’t used yet, mostly because I haven’t needed to. My hair is silky, smooth, and best of all, straight as straight can be. I haven’t had to break out my flat iron since we’ve been here, my hair is that friggen straight.

The last item in my hair care arsenal gets used throughout my hair routine:

Conair Velvet Touch Cushion Hair Brush

49913412488904p

A good hair brush is every girl’s best friend, and I seem to have found the holy grail of hair brushes. The best part is it’s less than $5 at your local Target. I need the sturdier bristles to get through my hair, but I don’t lose a ton of hair every time I brush my hair.

After I apply the conditioner to my hair, but before I rinse it out, I grab my loofah and this next item to cleanse my whole body, minus my face:

Dove Go Fresh Restore Body Wash

s-l1000

I should specify, I do shower everyday, and these next two products do get used everyday. For me, body wash is body wash is body wash. I have naturally dry skin everywhere but my face, so no matter what I use, if I don’t lotion up after, I get ashy and my whole body just feels gross. I use this one because I like the way it smells, and so does Joe, which is important since we share one bottle of body wash. I’ve spent tons of money on the super expensive “designer” body washes before with virtually no change in how my skin feels, so I just stick to the stuff I can get at Target and/or the local super market since all I’m really using it for is to clean my skin in preparation for the next step:

Nivea In-Shower Nourishing Body Lotion

14779179

These in-shower body lotions have been a relatively recent development, and this is only the second one I’ve tried, but I have to say, I’m a fan. Even in the drier climate, my body still feels moisturized with the exception of my hands and elbows, but I have something else I use on those which we’ll go over later. This particular lotion does say to rinse off after application, which I prefer. The other one I tried did not say to rinse off, and my skin felt a little greasy after I used it. This bottle has also lasted much longer than the other one, not really sure why. I do have to warn you, these lotions can be slippery when they are rinsed off, so please be careful and watch your footing to avoid slipping and falling in the shower. Also, DO NOT apply them to the bottom of your feet.

These next three products are strictly for my hands and arms which seem to get a lot of abuse and need an extra layer of protection:

Bath & Body Works Deep Cleansing Soap in Caribbean Escape

pBBW1-20955379enh-z8

I have to say, I’m not a huge fan of this scent, but I do like the soap. I’m a little bummed that California has made it illegal to sell these soaps, but I do understand why (the beads are supposed to be really bad for the environment), so I’m hoarding the few bottles I have left that I purchased in Arizona a few weeks before we moved. I use this in the morning after I finish my makeup and in the evening after I’ve finished my facial skincare routine, as well as throughout the day. I follow it up with this next product:

Bodycology Hand & Body Lotion

bodycology_cucumber_melon_hand_body_lotion

They seem to have discontinued the scent that I am currently using, so if you click on the link it will take you to a different scent. The important thing about this step is the texture and feel of the lotion more than the smell, unless that is really important to you. I spray perfume after I use this, so the smell isn’t ridiculously important to me. The lotion itself is very thick and packed full of moisture, which is what I need. I use this after I wash my hands in both my morning and night routines, making sure to rub it into my cuticles before covering the rest of my hands and arms.

This last product only gets used once a week, in lieu of my Saturday evening washing and lotion application:

Mary Kay Peach Satin Hands Pampering Set

P1110374

I actually use their old satin hands set, but they discontinued it a while ago and this is what they have replaced it with. I do use the peach hand cream because I didn’t like the way the old hand cream smelled. It looks like they’ve combined two of the steps into the one hand scrub, so I can’t vouch for how well the new set works. The old set works wonderfully though, and I use it in lieu of going and getting manicures done on the regular, so I really hope this set works just as well. I only use it once a week though, so it is going to be a while before I have to replace the bottles.

Now that we have all of the products out of the way, how do they get incorporated into my routine? Well, it depends on if it’s a hair washing day or not, so I’ll break it up into two categories. Keep in mind, I wash my hair about every 2-3 days, always in the morning. I’ll also include my Saturday night routine at the end.

Hair Washing Days:

Morning Routine:

  1. Dove Intensive Repair Shampoo: I dampen my hair, then squeeze a decent amount into my hand, then work into a rich lather in my hair before immediately rinsing out.
  2. Dove Intensive Repair Conditioner: After I rinse out the shampoo, I squeeze a decent amount of the conditioner into my hand, then apply it to my hair, root to tip. Do not rinse out yet.
  3. Dove Go Fresh Restore Body Wash: After I condition my hair, I squeeze a decent amount into my loofah, then work into a rich lather before rubbing my loofah all over my skin, with the exception of my face, which will get washed later. I rinse off my body first, then rinse the conditioner out of my hair.
  4. I turn the shower off (small shower), then apply Nivea In-Shower Nourishing Body Lotion all over my body, avoiding my face and the bottoms of my feet. I then turn the shower back on and rinse off before turning the shower off for good and drying off.
  5. After I get out of the shower, I pin my hair back away from my face and continue with my morning skincare routine, which you can find towards the bottom of this POST.
  6. Makeup application comes next, before focusing on my hair.
  7. Roux 233 Treatment & Shine: I unclip my hair, shake the bottle, then spray this all over my hair, focusing on the ends and tangles in my hair. I run a brush through my hair and work out the tangles before applying the next product.
  8. Tigi Bed Head After the Party Smoothing Cream: I squeeze three pumps of this into my hand, rub my hands together, then apply all over my hair from root to tip. I brush it through my hair before moving onto the final product.
  9. Matrix Total Results Sleek Silk Wonder Smoothing Oil: I squeeze a quarter size amount into my hand, rub both hands together, then work this through my hair from root to tip. I then run my brush through my hair before blow drying my hair.
  10. Conair 1875 Watt Cord-Keeper Hair Dryer: I plug this in then set it to high heat on the highest heat setting (There is hot, warm, and cold on this particular model) then dry my hair till it’s almost completely dry. I then turn the heat down to warm and finish the ends of my hair on warm. Style as per usual before heading onto the next step.
  11. After I finish drying my hair, I turn the warm water on and dampen my hands before squeezing Bath & Body Works Deep Cleansing Soap in Caribbean Escape into my hands, working into a lather, then rinsing off before I go onto the next step.
  12. Bodycology Hand & Body Lotion: I squeeze a generous amount into my hands, then focus on my fingers and the palms of my hands before rubbing the excess onto my arms and elbows.

Night Routine:

  1. I do one of two night skincare routines, which can be found towards the bottom of this POST before moving onto these two steps:
  2. After I finish my evening skincare routine, I turn the warm water on and dampen my hands before squeezing Bath & Body Works Deep Cleansing Soap in Caribbean Escape into my hands, working into a lather, then rinsing off before I go onto the next step.
  3. Bodycology Hand & Body Lotion: I squeeze a generous amount into my hands, then focus on my fingers and the palms of my hands before rubbing the excess onto my arms and elbows.

Non-Hair Washing Days:

Morning Routine:

  1. Dove Go Fresh Restore Body Wash: After I rinse my body off, I squeeze a decent amount into my loofah, then work into a rich lather before rubbing my loofah all over my skin, with the exception of my face, which will get washed later. I rinse off my body, then move onto the next step.
  2. I turn the shower off (small shower), then apply Nivea In-Shower Nourishing Body Lotion all over my body, avoiding my face and the bottoms of my feet. I then turn the shower back on and rinse off before turning the shower off for good and drying off.
  3. After I get out of the shower, I pin my hair back away from my face and continue with my morning skincare routine, which you can find towards the bottom of this POST.
  4. Makeup application comes next. I’ll do a post with my everyday makeup routine tomorrow.
  5. I turn the warm water on and dampen my hands before squeezing Bath & Body Works Deep Cleansing Soap in Caribbean Escape into my hands, working into a lather, then rinsing off before I go onto the next step.
  6. Bodycology Hand & Body Lotion: I squeeze a generous amount into my hands, then focus on my fingers and the palms of my hands before rubbing the excess onto my arms and elbows.

Night Routine:

  1. I do one of two night skincare routines, which can be found towards the bottom of this POST before moving onto these two steps:
  2. After I finish my evening skincare routine, I turn the warm water on and dampen my hands before squeezing Bath & Body Works Deep Cleansing Soap in Caribbean Escape into my hands, working into a lather, then rinsing off before I go onto the next step.
  3. Bodycology Hand & Body Lotion: I squeeze a generous amount into my hands, then focus on my fingers and the palms of my hands before rubbing the excess onto my arms and elbows.

Saturday Night Routine:

  1. I do one of two facial skincare routines at night, which can be found towards the bottom of this POST before moving onto the next four steps. Please keep in mind that the set I use for the following steps is no longer available, and the set that is available to replace my set does combine the second and third step I use into a single second step. If you have any questions, feel free to send me a message HERE or leave it in the comments.
  2. I make sure the water coming out of the faucet is warm, then I dampen my hands before using an extra emollient night cream and thoroughly coating both hands, especially the cuticles. DO NOT RINSE OFF.
  3. Next, I squeeze a dime size amount of buffing cream onto my hands, rubbing them together and again making sure my cuticles are getting plenty of attention. DO NOT RINSE OFF.
  4. Finally, I squeeze a dime size amount of cleansing gel onto my hands, making sure to massage my cuticles with the gel as well. Rinse off your hands, then dry before moving onto the final step.
  5. Squeeze a dime size amount of the lotion onto your hands, then massage into your hands, making sure to focus on your cuticles.

And there you have it! I’m sorry this post is so long, but if you’ve made it this far, thank you! Tomorrow, we dive into the wonderful world of makeup, so be sure to tune in for that. I also should finally be receiving my Erin Condren Life Planner tomorrow, so I’ll video the unboxing and post that on Sunday. I may not post much next week since it is Thanksgiving week and the last week we’ll be in Colorado with Joe’s family before moving to California, but I’ll do my best to get posts up next week. If you have any questions you don’t want to post in the comments below, feel free to send me a message HERE.

One thought on “From the top of your head…

Penny for your thoughts?

