Skincare 102

In yesterday’s post I promised a follow up post with my routine along with the other products I use on a regular basis. I’m going to break it down into two sections, things that I consider vitally important or essential, and things that definitely help but aren’t 100% necessary IMHO. The good news is, most of these things you can get at your local drugstore, with the exception of a few products. The other good news is there are only two products that I consider essential, and they are:

Sephora Waterproof Eye Makeup Remover

017

The good news is, even though this is from Sephora, it’s not *that* expensive, $10.50 for the medium sized bottle (4.2oz). I got the sample as part of their holiday gift bags a few weeks ago, and I absolutely love it. I use an eyebrow product that doesn’t like to come off for anything, and a little of this on a cotton ball just takes it right off. I use this JUST for my eye makeup, I use the next product to remove everything else:

Up & Up Facial Cleansing Wipes

15041845

I’ve used a few different makeup removing cleansing cloths, and I like these the best. They have a really nice scent, and it really feels like I’ve removed all of my makeup after using these. I wear a considerable amount of makeup on a daily basis, so that clean feeling is really important. And the best part? They’re less than $4 at your local Target.

These next few products have helped my skin drastically, but I think if I were to cut them out I could maintain the skin results I’ve been having:

Studio 35 Clay Avocado Oatmeal Mask

450

I use this every other night after the Belif cleanser. It dries out my acne and reduces the amount of time a pimple decides to hang around. My pores also look smaller after I wash it off, and it seems to help with the redness as well. On the days that I don’t use this, I use:

Mary Kay TimeWise Microdermabrasion Set

mary-kay-timewise-microdermabrasion-set-z1

This is one of the few products I still use from this company. Their basic skincare line is meh at best, but this seems to work better than that. I know I should probably start transitioning to a more “age-defying” skincare routine, but I never really noticed any results with the products I did try, and most of them just made my acne flare up so it wasn’t really worth it to me. This is the one product I use that makes my skin feel “pulled” and tingly, but once I put the second product on (replenish) that feeling largely goes away. It is more abrasive than other products, but after the second step, my skin feels like a layer of dead skin has just been washed off, which sound like it would be uncomfortable, but it feels amazing. I do make sure to use this at night only because if I use it during the day and I go outside or get sun exposure, my skin tends to burn more easily.

These next few products get used in both my morning and night routines everyday:

Origins GinZing Refreshing Eye Cream

img_8834

I’ll preface this by saying that genetics are a bitch. The women in our family start showing their age in two distinct and hard to cover up places: the eyes and the forehead. As I approach my 32nd birthday, I’ve started to notice a little droopiness in the eye area, and the laugh lines on my forehead seem to not be disappearing when I’m not laughing. Urgh. I also use this in one other area, but I’ll discuss that when I go over my actual routine.

So far, this cream hasn’t wowed me. My eyes look a little brighter after putting it on, but other than that, I don’t really notice much change. I plan on going back to my previous eye cream which seems to keep the under eye lines at bay, which is primarily why I use an eye cream in the first place. I can use makeup to make my eyes look brighter, I don’t need to spend $30 on a cream that does nothing for me long term. The only saving grace is what it does for me in other places, so I haven’t replaced it yet. Thankfully I got it as a sample from Sephora, so at least I didn’t spend any money on it.

The next item:

Clean & Clear Advantage Acne Spot Treatment

k2-_410d4546-86d4-4304-a6b3-61bcafaf7c2c.v1

I debated adding this to the “essentials” section, as I have to use it whenever I get acne. Thankfully that has been slowing down as a result of the better skincare routine, so I don’t have to use it as often. When I do get a breakout, I use it in both my morning and night routines to get rid of the breakout as quickly as possible. I would definitely recommend shopping around a bit for this, there was a rather large price difference between Walgreens and Target, with Target being the cheaper of the two options.

I will say, this does burn slightly  upon application, but quickly goes away. It does seem to reduce the size of the pimple as well as how long it decides to hang around.

Two things, and then we’re done:

Walgreens Brand Lip Balm with SPF 15

521e2268d569be96256e333b988b2366

This is the only one I couldn’t find online, so I don’t have a link for it. Really any lip balm with SPF in it will work just fine, I just happened to get this one because I didn’t want to spend a ton of money on something I replace often. This is the one part of my skincare routine I keep with me and apply throughout the day as needed, usually 6-7 times a day. I also use it everyday in both my morning and night routines after I exfoliate.

Last product:

Up & Up Oil Absorbing Sheets

13970774

I do keep these with me as well, but I haven’t really needed to use them as often recently. I wouldn’t spend the money for name brand oil absorbing sheets, the store brand of whatever store you get them from should do the trick. I just happen to be at Target a lot, so I usually pick them up there. Target’s website says they are $4.49, but I don’t think I paid more than $3 in store, so I wouldn’t bother ordering them online.

All the ones I’ve used seem to work fairly well, I usually use one in the morning before I put my makeup on and one at night at the end of my skincare routine. Prior to changing up my skincare routine, I may have to use one in the middle of the day as well, but I haven’t had to do so in a few weeks. I still use one in the morning and one at night, but my skin is just naturally very oily in the t-zone area, so I suspect this will always be the case, no matter what products I use. The fact that I haven’t had to use one midday in a few weeks is a big improvement for me.

Now that we have all the products listed, I’ll go over how I use them and in what order:

Morning Routine:

  1. Brush teeth, and use the bristles of the tooth brush to exfoliate your lips.
  2. Belif Crystal Cleansing Foam Fresh: Dampen skin with a new washcloth, then squeeze a dime sized amount into your hand and lather, then  rub gently into your face. Wash off with the washcloth and dry your face.
  3. Belif Eucalyptus Herbal Extract Toner: Squeeze a small amount onto a cotton ball, then rub over your whole face.
  4. Belif Oil Control Fresh Moisturizer: Squeeze two pumps into your hand, rub your hands together, and then apply to your face.
  5. Origins GinZing Refreshing Eye Cream: I actually use this on my lips and eyes, and it seems to work much better on my lips than my eyes. Rub a VERY small amount into your lips. For the eyes, rub a very small amount onto the lids and under eye area.
  6. Clean & Clear Advantage Acne Spot Treatment: Apply a small amount as needed to any acne spots.
  7. Apply lip balm with SPF liberally to your lips. Repeat as necessary throughout the day.
  8. Up & Up Oil Absorbing Sheets: Press sheet to oily parts of your face. One sheet should be enough for your entire face.

First Night Routine:

  1. Brush teeth, and use the bristles of the tooth brush to exfoliate your lips. Make sure to remove all lip makeup first.
  2. Sephora Waterproof Eye Makeup Remover: Squeeze a small amount onto a cotton ball and gently rub over eye area to remove all eye makeup. I use one cotton ball per eye.
  3. Up & Up Facial Cleansing Wipes: Use one wipe to gently remove makeup from the rest of your face.
  4. Belif Crystal Cleansing Foam Fresh: Dampen skin with a new washcloth, then squeeze a dime sized amount into your hand and lather, then  rub gently into your face. Wash off with the washcloth but do not dry your face.
  5. Studio 35 Clay Avocado Oatmeal Mask: Dry your hands, then squeeze a generous portion into your hands, rub together, and apply all over face, avoiding the eyes and lips. Allow to dry (3-5 minutes), then remove with a warm washcloth.  Dry your face completely. Feel free to go scare your loved ones while you wait for the mask to dry on your face 😉
  6. Belif Eucalyptus Herbal Extract Toner: Squeeze a small amount onto a cotton ball, then rub over your whole face, avoiding the eyes and lips.
  7. Belif Oil Control Fresh Moisturizer: Squeeze two pumps into your hand, rub your hands together, and then apply to your face.
  8. Origins GinZing Refreshing Eye Cream: I actually use this on my lips and eyes, and it seems to work much better on my lips than my eyes. Rub a VERY small amount into your lips. For the eyes, rub a very small amount onto the lids and under eye area.
  9. Clean & Clear Advantage Acne Spot Treatment: Apply a small amount as needed to any acne spots.
  10. Apply lip balm with SPF liberally to your lips.
  11. Up & Up Oil Absorbing Sheets: Press sheet to oily parts of your face. One sheet should be enough for your entire face.

Second Night Routine:

  1. Brush teeth, and use the bristles of the tooth brush to exfoliate your lips. Make sure to remove all lip makeup first.
  2. Sephora Waterproof Eye Makeup Remover: Squeeze a small amount onto a cotton ball and gently rub over eye area to remove all eye makeup. I use one cotton ball per eye.
  3. Up & Up Facial Cleansing Wipes: Use one wipe to gently remove makeup from the rest of your face.
  4. Belif Crystal Cleansing Foam Fresh: Dampen skin with a new washcloth, then squeeze a dime sized amount into your hand and lather, then  rub gently into your face. Wash off with the washcloth but do not dry your face.
  5. Mary Kay TimeWise Microdermabrasion Step One: Squeeze a dime size amount  onto your hands, rub together, and apply to your damp face, then remove with a warm washcloth. Dry your face completely.
  6. Mary Kay TimeWise Microdermabrasion Step Two: Squeeze two pumps into your hand, rub your hands together, and then apply to your face.
  7. Belif Eucalyptus Herbal Extract Toner: Squeeze a small amount onto a cotton ball, then rub over your whole face, avoiding the eyes and lips.
  8. Belif Oil Control Fresh Moisturizer: Squeeze two pumps into your hand, rub your hands together, and then apply to your face.
  9. Origins GinZing Refreshing Eye Cream: I actually use this on my lips and eyes, and it seems to work much better on my lips than my eyes. Rub a VERY small amount into your lips. For the eyes, rub a very small amount onto the lids and under eye area.
  10. Clean & Clear Advantage Acne Spot Treatment: Apply a small amount as needed to any acne spots.
  11. Apply lip balm with SPF liberally to your lips.
  12. Up & Up Oil Absorbing Sheets: Press sheet to oily parts of your face. One sheet should be enough for your entire face.

I know these routines look like they are going to take a long time. In all honesty, they will probably take about 10-15 minutes, especially on the nights when you use the clay mask. Since I’ve been using this routine and am pretty much on autopilot when I do it, I can usually complete the whole skincare routine from start to finish in just under 10 minutes.

Some general rules of thumb to remember no matter what skincare routine you are using:

  1. Use a new washcloth every time you wash your face. If you can, use a new face towel to dry your face every time you wash your face. If you can’t make sure you are replacing it every couple of days at the very least.
  2. Wash your sheets and pillow cases often. In fact, wash anything that touches your face on the regular as often as possible.
  3. Avoid touching your face throughout the day.
  4. Wash your hands often.
  5. DRINK WATER, lots of it.
  6. Give new products a chance. It takes a couple of months for your skin to adapt to new products, and most people will experience a skin purge when you try new products.
  7. Introduce new products once every two weeks. This way, if your skin reacts poorly to something, you will know which product caused the reaction.
  8. Record the ingredients in products your skin reacts poorly to, then avoid those ingredients in future products.

Well, that is everything you ever need to know when it comes to facial skincare. Tomorrow I’ll go over how to take care of the rest of your body, which is just as important as your face. We only get one body, so we have to take care of them!

If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to ask. If you’re not comfortable leaving a comment, please use THIS contact page to send me a message anonymously. The only required field is the actual comment box, but feel free to include any of the other information if you’re comfortable.

A good friend of mine, who shall remain anonymous at her request, is sending me a box full of makeup goodies to play with, so once we get through all things skincare and my daily makeup routine, I’ll definitely be experimenting with new pretty stuff and documenting it all here.

If there is a product you would like me to try, send me a message HERE with a link to the product (if possible) and I’ll try it out as soon as the beauty budget allows. Just keep in mind that I’m not drowning in cash, so super expensive stuff may not happen unless I can find it at a steep discount. I also won’t try something if I think it will mess with my skin since I am prone to acne and have sensitive skin. Other than that, I’m pretty willing to try most things. Ask away!

EDIT: HERE is the rest of my skin and hair care routines, if you want to skip to the part where I show you how I incorporate everything into my routine, it is towards the bottom half of the post. Enjoy!

 

3 thoughts on “Skincare 102

Penny for your thoughts?

