I Swear I’m Alive

I apologize for taking a brief hiatus, I’ve had a lot going on and have just been focusing on myself and my family for the time being. While I’ve been gone I have been thinking about what I’d like to do with this blog. In recent months I’ve been focusing on improving my self confidence. One of the biggest changes I’ve made in that regard is taking better care of my skin and using makeup on the regular. While I definitely don’t think I NEED the makeup to feel better about myself it has definitely helped, and I’ve enjoyed learning new things and experimenting with different colors. I haven’t mastered everything just yet, but I feel like I’m making progress, and I’d like to pass on what I’ve learned to my readers as well as learn from others what works for them. Would you be interested in something like that? I’m definitely NOT an expert, but I think I’ve got the basics down, which is the biggest hurdle to jump IMHO.

I’ve also gotten into the planner world! I ordered an Erin Condren Life Planner for my Christmas present last week. It should be here just before Thanksgiving, and I can’t even begin to tell you how excited I am. Check out their LOOK BOOK to see all three of their weekly layouts as well as all the goodies that come along with their planners. I’ll do an unboxing video when I get mine, I hear they’re packaged in super cute packaging and include some extra special goodies. I ordered the horizontal weekly layout, but there is a vertical and hourly option to suit virtually everyone. They also have teacher lesson planners and wedding planners. I got a few extra goodies to complete my order, but you’ll have to check out the unboxing video to see what I got to compliment my planner, so be sure to check back for that in a couple of weeks!

I’m getting mine customized so it is going to take a little longer to get to me, but they have good to go options as well for people who want theirs ASAP. They also include a coupon for a free customized cover if you order from their good to go section so you can personalize it later. If you like what you see and decide to order a planner of your own, I would really appreciate it if you could use this LINK to place your order. In the interest of full disclosure, I’ll get $10 in credit to use in their store, and so will you, just for using this LINK. I plan on using mine for a variety of different things, including tracking my blogging as well as meal planning to start losing weight once we get out to California and settled into the new house. I’ll have to start job hunting after the first of the year as well, so it will help me keep track of interviews and whatnot.

One of my goals for 2016 is to get organized and not be so forgetful, so this will definitely help with that. I haven’t really had a planner since my early 20’s, and that was primarily for school, so I can’t say it really helped with keeping my whole life organized, but I’m hoping since I sprung for a really nice one with a price tag to match that I’ll get more use out of it. A good friend of mine has one, and hers just looked fun to use, so I’m hoping it will be a focal point for not only the creative side of writing but the more monotonous side of it as well. That book isn’t going to write itself, ya know what I mean?

The novel has become a bit of a sore spot at the moment. I’m just not feeling what I’ve been writing, so I think a revamp is in order. I seem to have hit the proverbial brick wall known as writer’s block, so the ideas just aren’t coming to me, which makes getting back on track all the more important. I think a lot of it has to do with all the stress I’ve been under in the last month and a half, so hopefully with a major source of that stress recently being removed, I’ll be able to get back to the writing board and crank out a novel I can be proud of.

It’s kind of a dead zone right now, but if you’d like to be included in the “critique panel” for my novel, I can invite you to the private blog I have set up to review everything. The only catch is you have to have a wordpress account since the blog is set to invite only. All I ask is that if you request to be added you commit to spending some time each week actually critiquing what I wrote, probably about 20-30 minutes a week, depending on how in depth you would like to go. In return for your help, I’ll make sure you get mentioned in the final product if/when I decide to publish it and a publishing company actually picks it up. And my unending gratitude of course.

Until next time ladies and gentlemen, have a good night!

One thought on “I Swear I’m Alive

Penny for your thoughts?

