Kitty cat tape dispensers, and other random musings

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “From Every Angle.”

IMG_20150831_143300 IMG_20150831_143250 IMG_20150831_143239

When I wrote THIS post a few days ago, I mentioned that I was quitting my job as a result of our impending move back to California. I didn’t really go into too much detail, mostly because I’m still pretty conflicted about it. I love my job, for the most part. I work with good people, and I enjoy what I do. The company I work for is small enough that I know and interact with every employee on an almost daily basis, and that is the kind of environment I really enjoy working in. In spite of the many struggles I’ve faced in this job, I can say without a doubt that I am going to miss being here.

The tape dispenser pictured above is from one of our largest vendors. They are the main supplier for one of our most profitable business areas, and our main point of contact is one of the sweetest people I have ever met. She’s the one who gave me the tape dispenser pictured above that’s been sitting on my desk for the better part of a year. I know it’s just a tape dispenser, and I know that the only reason she is so nice to everyone here is because we make her a lot of money, but at the end of the day, I’m still going to miss her, and everyone I work with. Good people make all the difference in the world when it comes to a job, and I’m blessed to have worked with so many over the last year and a half.

As the time to leave comes closer, it gets more and more difficult to see everyone everyday. I’m dreading (and looking forward to) training my replacement, because I know that no matter how well I teach them, they’re going to make mistakes. I’ve spent the last year and a half mastering this job, and I’m just now getting comfortable in my own skin around here. I know that whoever comes after me will have to do that all over again, and it’s going to impact people I’ve truly come to care about until they are just as confident as I am. I know in my head and my heart that I belong in California, but I never imagined it would be so hard to leave everyone behind.

In it’s own way, that tape dispenser represents everything I’m leaving behind here in Arizona.

Penny for your thoughts?

