The good, the bad, and the ugly: novel writing edition

The good, the bad, and the ugly: novel writing edition

dhdraft

I’ve been “working on” a novel for the better part of a decade. By working on, I mean I wrote a short story that really needs to be developed into a novel, if for no other reason than the story behind it is amazing and funny and pokes fun at who I was when I wrote it, in a completely creepy way that’ll leave you feeling like a dozen spiders are crawling in your hair. If it never sees the light of day, I’ll be doing the world a favor. I wrote it in the aftermath of my breakup with my ex, and you can tell. It was more of a cathartic release than anything else, and I haven’t really wanted to share it with the world since then, so I haven’t really been working on it despite encouragement from friends and family.

It’s dark, and crazy, and people may or may not want to have me committed if they read it. I assure you, I have never done, nor am I planning on ever doing, anything I’ve written in this particular story. I wrote it to excise some demons, and it turned into something I’m really glad I wrote. I go back to it every now and again to remind myself of how far I’ve come from who I was as a person during arguably one of the most painful times of my life.

Unfortunately, I went looking for it a few weeks ago and couldn’t find it. The last time I looked at it was on my mac, and I haven’t had it for two years, so I’m assuming it got lost in the shuffle between computers when the hard drive croaked on my old computer and I didn’t have it backed up to an external hard drive. This makes me a very sad panda, but it’s for the best. Why?

I get to start over from scratch. I remember the basic premise of what I was writing, so I have the general framework down, but not the details, which probably would have gotten refined in the process anyways, so now I don’t have to agonize over what to keep and what to leave for my next writing adventure.

The bad news is, I’m not willing to share it with everyone just yet. This is where you, my lovely readers come in. Before you scroll down to the bottom and say you want to be included, let me explain what I need. I need people to be honest, brutally so. I NEED you to tell me it sucks, and why it sucks, and how you think it could be better. This will require TIME on your part, and a certain amount of humility on my part. I’m going to set up a separate blog that will be kept completely private (invite only), so the amount of invites I can send out is limited. If you can’t commit to that, please don’t ask for an invite. I don’t expect you to spend hours pouring over every word I write, but a certain amount of time will be necessary to make an honest critique of my work. I’ll limit it to 1-2 posts per week so that you aren’t inundated with posts from me.

You don’t need to be a professional writer or critic to do this for me. In fact, I’m looking for the opinions of people who read novels on the regular and feel comfortable comprehending the books they read. If you happen to be a writer, I’d love to have your opinion as well, but it’s definitely not required. In other words, I want the people who would actually read it to critique it, so I can get a feel for what my intended audience likes and doesn’t like. If this sounds like you, and you can invest the time, I would love to have your opinion. Just leave a comment on this post and I’ll send an invite your way

Thank you!

2 thoughts on “The good, the bad, and the ugly: novel writing edition

Penny for your thoughts?

