Charm and Strange

Charm and Strange
Click on the picture to be taken to the amazon page for the book.
Click on the picture to be taken to the amazon page for the book.

I can’t say I’ve ever been left unsettled after reading a book, at least until today. Charm and Strange left me feeling like it wasn’t finished, like there was more to the story. Not that it was unfinished, but just a vague feeling of unease. I can’t really explain it. I feel like I’m going to have nightmares because of this book, and it has been a while since a book affected me so profoundly.

It wasn’t that the book was scary, in fact quite the opposite. It was creepy. It made my skin crawl to read it, and I couldn’t really connect with the characters in any meaningful way. But I don’t think the reader was meant to grow attached to the characters, at least not in the way people traditionally connect with characters. I couldn’t identify with what the main character was going through, but I found myself hoping he would be okay. I actually started to care for him, as if he was real. It’s really difficult to explain, but I hope you understand.

It was ridiculously well written, kept me guessing right up until the very end. Even though you KNEW something horrible happened to the main character from the very beginning of the book, I couldn’t tell you what happened until I read the words on the page. And then it was completely out of left field. I won’t ruin the book for you by telling you what happens, but do yourself a favor and go order that book. I got it for less than $5, and it is ridiculously worth the time it will take to finish.

Penny for your thoughts?

