Reconstructing Amelia

Reconstructing Amelia
scan0009
If you click on the picture of the book, it will take you to the amazon page for easy ordering.

I’m going to apologize in advance. I’ve polished off most of a bottle of wine just before writing this, and it’s been one of the most painful days I’ve had in a while, so please forgive me if I seem a little off. I’m not even sure why I’m here, but I need I to write, of that I am sure. Also, no I’m not drinking at 8 in the morning, I’m writing this the night before. I’ll be on my way to work when this gets published, so don’t worry, at least not yet.

I have to admit, I’m part of a book club on goodreads, and that is where I found this book. It was one of two books they read for the month of July, and I’ve got the other one on its way to me. I got this one about a week ago and have been itching to start reading it ever since. I didn’t know much about the book going into it, which is what I was looking for. I wanted to get lost in a book, and boy did I.

I have to admit, it’s a little choppy. The author wrote the book from two different perspectives, so at first it was a little difficult to follow. Once I got into the story, I couldn’t put it down. It wasn’t the longest book I’ve ever read, so I finished it in two days. After everything that’s happened in the last twelve hours, I needed to get away for a while, so a new book was just what I needed.

The book served its purpose, and once I got into the story, it was pretty easy to follow. It wasn’t anything horribly difficult, though the subject matter was less than easy to deal with. The pace was just perfect, and there were enough “oh shit” moments to keep me going to the next page, the next chapter. It was well written, save for the jumping around, and the story kept you interested. The characters were engaging and personable, which kept you interested in what happened to them.

Overall, it was a good read. I wasn’t like OMG everyone needs to read this right now, but the story flowed well once you got into it and the characters kept you interested, so I’d say it’s worth the download.

Penny for your thoughts?

