Sunshine and Roses

IMG_20150726_185034

A few years ago, a good friend (Hi April!) did a blog/social media project where she focused on the positives in her life rather than the negative. This blog over the last few months has turned into my vent space, and that is perfectly fine. It’s my blog, I can do with it what I want. And this isn’t to say that the venting hasn’t been incredibly cathartic, because it has been. I function better as a human being when I have a unbiased place to vent my frustrations. and there is just something incredibly cathartic about finding out you’re not the only one going through problems, it makes the world seem a little smaller and easier to manage.

But lets face it, not everyone wants to read a negative nelly. It gets boring, and frankly a little depressing. No one wants to read about the bad all the time, and when I focus on just that, it starts to bring me down as well. So for the sake of not boring you all to tears and to help me appreciate what I do have a little more, I want to start writing about all the good going on in my life. I’ll add a tag and category (Sunshine and Roses) for these posts so you can separate them out from everything else.

I have an incredibly supportive and wonderful husband. We’ll be celebrating our first year of marriage in a few months and I couldn’t be happier. He completes me, guides me, loves me, and cherishes me. He has been my rock through this last year, and I am incredibly blessed as a result of his presence in my life. I don’t know that I would have made it through the last few months with my sanity intact had he not been here by my side. If you had told me the day I married Joe that I would love him even more now, I wouldn’t have believed you. I know how incredibly cliche that sounds, but it is the truth, I love him more now than I ever have, and I can’t wait to see what the future holds for us.

My family, a certain SiL included, have been incredibly supportive during this time. We may not all get along 100% of the time, but I know that if I was in a bind, every last one of them would come to help me, no matter what.

I am incredibly blessed that I get along so well with my in-laws. After reading so many horror stories and hearing about what my friends have gone through with their in-laws, I know I  am incredibly lucky to have such awesome in-laws, and I look forward to having an awesome relationship with them for a very long time.

I have a job. No it’s not the best in the world, but it pays the bills. I work with mostly good people, and our office is structured in a way that allows me to limit contact with the not so good people, so I am able to do my job well without that added stress. I enjoy the work that I do, our clients are ever challenging and keep me on my toes, and while not everything is perfect about my job, I know that I am lucky to have it. Not everyone can say the same thing.

I’d like to leave you with a song I heard on the radio a few weeks ago. I put it on blast when I get in the car every morning and on the way home from work, the lyrics have been incredibly helpful to me along the way. I hope you enjoy the song, the artist is incredibly talented.

Penny for your thoughts?

