The Day

The Day

Joe+Liz_0373B

 

Ever since I was a little girl, I dreamed of the day my daddy would walk me down the aisle, and entrust me to the man I chose to marry. With the exception of a few tweaks, my wedding day was perfect. We had our fair share of bumps along the way, but seeing Joe waiting for me at the front of the church made every obstacle worth it. The benefit of being with someone for as long as we’ve been together was an overwhelming sense of peace as I walked down the aisle to marry the man I love. Everyone kept expecting me to get jitters, but I couldn’t have been more calm about the choice I was making. I knew, and that gave me the guts to propel my dad and I down the aisle with a confidence I didn’t know I had.

I kept waiting for the meltdown though. I kept waiting for my brain to register what my heart was committing to, but every time I thought about it, all I could feel was this overwhelming sense of peace that I was making the right choice. I’m doing a piss poor job of explaining how I felt that day, but I hope you understand. I’d been ready for this day for what felt like most of my life. All the heartache, the trials, the drama, the friends and family had led me to this point. The good, the bad, and the ugly, all rolled up into the perfect husband for me. I couldn’t have asked for a better life partner, and everyday I wake up striving to be the same for him.

All the stuff leading up to me walking down the aisle though? That’s where it gets interesting. My maid of honor forgot the docking station to play music through, so my BiL had to rush to the nearest best buy to find one AND make it back in time to see his little brother get married, no small feat given where we got married (the middle of nowhere) and his lack of knowledge of the area in general. Joe, his mom, and younger brother almost didn’t make it in time. My bouquet kept falling apart. The strap of my dress kept falling down. My ring bearer was a fickle two year old who had a bad habit of bolting whenever people looked at him.

But, he did find a bluetooth speaker AND make it back in time to see us get married. I had music to walk down the aisle to, and my guests had a fun time choosing songs to listen to at the reception. Joe did make it in time, and the photographer was able to fit his groom only pictures in with the rest of our pictures. My photographer, being the life saver that she is was able to fix both my bouquet AND my dress. Seriously, my photographer was amazing. And my ring bearer made it down the aisle at the side of one of his cousin’s. I didn’t get to see him, but everyone said he was adorable.

My sister, who I haven’t seen in 3 decades was able to make it to my wedding, and I was able to spend some time with her the next day since her flight didn’t leave till the following Monday. Our wedding was small enough I was able to spend time with everyone AND I got to actually eat at the reception.

And the best part of all?

I got to marry my best friend.

Penny for your thoughts?

